Beliefs

Posted: January 11, 2010 in Uncategorized

Recently, I’ve been faced with some tough days and challenges both professionally and personally. In spite of these setbacks, I have a lot to be thankful for so this post isn’t going to be about me complaining…too much 😉  No, this post is simply to put out into the Universe, my thoughts on positive energy and to share my beliefs.

Let’s face it – many of us wake up everyday not exactly thrilled about facing our jobs, chores/tasks, etc.  (Anyone remember the older movie, American Beauty?) However, that’s not to say we aren’t happy to be alive and happy to have a job to complain about or a life that gets the better of us at times. I’ve been guilty of being angry and exhibiting my frustration the last couple of months and as a result realized that unless someone is personally affected as well, many people may empathize but not relate. Or when they do understand, their suggested methods for coping with the situation may not suitable to your life or belief system.

For example the book, “Eat, Pray, Love” is good but let’s face it, how many of us can just pick ourselves up and travel the world in search of enlightenment? I know I can’t so I settle for reading about it. Another example is when a friend gave me a Bible with several highlighted sections to help get me through the rough times. While I truly appreciated her concern, I’m not religious and I have more of an affinity for Eastern religions than Western beliefs, so I couldn’t relate to her Bible.

So what did I discover if all of these helpful methods failed? I was forced to go back to the saving grace from my teen years (which were some of the worst years of my life but that’s a post for another time) and pull out some of the aspects that saved my life that I seem to have forgotten about while fighting to become a success according to society’s standards. My list includes:

  • Peace is not only obtainable from experts or gurus or by going to a temple or church, etc.
  • Happiness is not external
  • Satisfaction is not found in a paycheck
  • Love is not a packaged emotion that we can use a formula to find. (E.g. Sexy + Money = Love)
  • Sometimes trying to save the world is a bit much…I am now just trying to save myself and improve my community
  • Friends and loved ones will let you down. How you cope and find forgiveness will determine your ability to deal with conflict and failure and I believe will help you become a stronger person.

What did I leave off this list? Also, if you are going through a tough time, remember that tough times will end whereas tough people last (someone really smart said this but I don’t remember who…) Please feel free to reach out and chat or email if you need an ear (or eyes) and I promise to listen.

I hope that by reaffirming some of my positive beliefs and purging my negative energy I will become a stronger person this decade and in turn help others conquer their fears and overcome their tough times.

Peace,
Natasha

Comments
  1. liz says:

    way to ground yourself! plant your feet in that list. 🙂 peace and light natasha!

  2. CreoleSugar says:

    I hope you’re doing okay! Maybe a combination of meditation and bikram yoga will boost your mood. 🙂

    • Hey lovely lady! I’m good thanks 🙂 I just needed to get myself back on track and push on! How are you? I’m loving and feeling those good vibes; thank you!

      I’ve thought about bikram yoga but haven’t tried it yet. You may think this sounds crazy but the time I’m most at peace is when I’m working out or playing a sport. And….I’ve been working out a lot recently….lol!

  3. Toni says:

    I’m feeling you on this.. I’m loving your positiveness. You bounce back and come back stronger than ever. Kudos to not giving in to the negativity and letting it consume you.

  4. Shawn Cole says:

    I can help you with this. Always know I hate you. 😉

  5. Max Reddick says:

    I can relate to this post. I think everyone can relate to this post. I am exceedingly thankful for what I have. Daily in the news we hear stories of people who have lost everything, yet I continue to b blessed.

    However, sometimes in the daily grind of life, we lose sight of or forget about our blessings and focus on those things that cause us the most grief. But if we decided to be happy regardless, if we spend more time counting our blessings, if we embrace positivity and eschew that which is negative, only then will we begin to know the meaning of true happiness.

Leave a Reply

