Realizations

Posted: September 24, 2010 in Pushing my buttons!
Tags: ,

On Wednesday, I was invited to my bff’s daughter’s orientation for her T.W.I.G.S* program and of course I said yes, because I am extremely proud of my young artist and her accomplishments thus far.

As I sat there listening to teachers and people involved in the program, I was reminded of several things – how it felt to have that sense of promise and excitement in knowing you’re off on a wonderful new adventure and that I have moved away from some of my basic habits that indeed make us better prepared people.

A gentle sounding music teacher explained the importance of practicing daily and practicing perfectly to avoid practicing badly and getting consistently worse at your craft, while a Janis Joplin look alike explained the importance of good attendance and securing your instruments when you’re in the building or on the sidewalk. To quote “Janis”, “Attendance is important but not if Johnny’s been on the toilet all night” and “Trust in Allah but tie up your camel”.
Note: The camel comment has nothing to do with my realizations; it was just funny as hell so I included it here because I thought you’d get a chuckle out of it. Dear pro-camel readers, this quote is a truism so please don’t send me hate mail, mmmmkay? Thanks.

Okay, so back to my point and yes, I do have one. Of course I know how to be courteous, read, write, and all that good stuff but what about practicing daily and taking the time to pay attention to what you’re doing (being present)? What about sticking to your goals, working hard at it (them) and believing that they will come true? My goals are lofty, I’ll admit that. But who says that’s a bad thing?  Sadly, at times, I have gotten down on myself and spun in circles. I guess that’s partly why I’ve jumped on opportunities that weren’t perfect for me and tried to make them fit my life plan.

[Lightbulb on] Do what I love to do!

I love writing poetry and fiction as well as connecting with people. So I plan to practice daily (write, practice reading pieces out loud and refine my recordings) as well as find better and more efficient ways to connect with others by getting my podcasts up and running asap. I need to remember that not every opportunity that presents itself is an aid and I should determine whether it fits my plan. If it doesn’t, I’ll pass it onto someone else and work my plan. Granted, I’ve learned something from each ill-suited opportunity but that’s another blog post for another day…

So in a paginated nutshell, this is what I’ve realized this week thanks to my future co-host of Hungover Poet’s Podcasting venture who happens to be my bff and her daughter.

I can’t wait to see what next week brings! Did you have any realizations this week?

*TWIGS offers Baltimore’s youngest artists an opportunity to develop and build upon their natural talents in the arts by training with professional artists.

Comments
  1. Cap'n Crunch says:

    Nothing as profound as yours but I do need to stop playing around and go to grad school already… for real this time.

    • Girl, grad school is profound! All the brain power and such. Go for it – I know you’ll rock and kick some bootaay. What are you thinking of majoring in?
      Thanks for reading, as always 🙂

  2. Toni says:

    I love realizations. And especially yours. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by natasha, natasha. natasha said: Non-poetic Realizations. Inspiration comes when least expected. https://natasharamsey.wordpress.com/2010/09/24/realizations/ […]

  4. Terry says:

    I think we all have realizations. But some times we don’t realize they are realizations. Thanks for sharing yours.

Leave a Reply

