A Creative Thank You and a Poem

Posted: January 27, 2012 in Poetry by Natasha Ramsey, Rocks in my path
Tags: , , , ,

Someone once said, “Of all the things I miss, I miss my mind the most”. Sometimes I feel this way. Between work and regular life, some days I feel as if I just exist. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been working my behind off and I really do love my grown-up gig but some days, it feels like I’ve lost all of my creativity. Now that’s a real problem because when I’m not creative, I feel like I’m suffocating. If I feel like I’m suffocating, I get bored. When I’m bored, I lose motivation. When I lose motivation, I write less. And well, when I write less, it’s difficult to say I’m a poet and writer. So as you can see, I need to get creative again.

That, my friends, is where you come in! I want to say thank you for your blog posts, books, poetry and the articles you’ve emailed or texted me over the past few months. These messages, as simple as they may seem, helped remind me that although I wasn’t writing at that particular moment, the people I met through this blog, twitter, freelance gigs, poetry shows I’ve hosted as well as those I’ve participated in, continue to encourage, inspire and amaze me with their talent. Therefore, I should get off my ass, appreciate and enjoy life so that my creativity will be sparked again. After all, I can’t write without life experiences and observations to draw from. So, to my friends, both online and in-person, thank you! You keep me going when I least expect it.

My Emotional Rock. Copyright 2011

 Emotions rock. 
They may not be trusted by some,
Or considered reliable if not tangible,
But they are real.
They fuel human imagery, integrity, life.  
A visionary’s gut instinct can guide heart and mind.
Those who disagree will use statistics and rationale to dissuade,
While others not swayed one way or another, form no opinion,
Only to find they are inevitably left behind
With a one-word description;
Minion.

Copyright 2011. All Rights Reserved. Natasha Ramsey

 

Comments
  1. Pam Reaves says:

    Natasha, It’s good to have you sharing your talent with us. Allow us to keep feasting upon your word. Thanks. Pam

    • Thanks for the encouragement, Pam! I will keep on keepin’ on 🙂 and in turn, will say the same to you – thank you for writing your book and sharing your stories with the world. It is not only encouraging, it is a reminder to be good to self.

      Natasha

  2. LadyT says:

    I completely understand how you feel… “when im not creative I feel like im suffocating” true words.. One the things I find inspiring is nature, I dont know why but when im lacking that creative spark, I just feel better getting out there enjoying the little things like sunshine and wind. It doesnt always give me an idea to write about but somehow it brings me back to life… great piece btw!

    • Thanks LadyT, I’ll try your advice and get out for some fresh air or sunshine or maybe cold air, since it’s winter here. Maybe the whole winter thing and hardly ever seeing the sun for a couple of months doesn’t help the mood…I appreciate you stopping by and the compliment! Peace, Natasha

  3. Brad Osborne says:

    This piece made me long even more for your linguistic expression. I have read all your work and gain insight, inspiration, and a wealth of spirit. I stop by often to re-read my favorites and wait expectantly for your next work. Stay inspired, stay creative, stay strong, and stay true to that beautiful you that you are.

    • Brad – A huge thank you for the awesomely warm and wonderful message!!

      I have been writing but now stuck between wanting to share everything I write free of charge here or whether I should continue to purse the traditional publishing route. I’m torn. I think I’m going to do the economically unsound thing LOL and post more here. My goal is to reach at least one person so who knows, maybe someone will be inspired, which will be worth more than gold!

      Very humbled by your kindness
      Natasha

Leave a Reply

