I Wonder…and Hope

Posted: September 12, 2012 in Poetry by Natasha Ramsey, Pushing my buttons!

This isn’t a long post in as much as it’s a question to ponder.

As happy as I am about the discussions back and forth on gay rights, marriage equality and how hateful DOMA and other organizations such as, GoProud (a name which is just funny in an ironic LGBT way) is, I can’t help but feel a twinge of concern.

Are LBGT people being used in this election? Just a little used…? Are straight supporters and those who are indeed lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or queer, being used in way similar to that of any other political platform trick such as sharing the personal story of the farmer from the Midwest, the single working mother from the Bronx, etc.?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for marriage equality, human rights for all and acceptance (not just tolerance) and I’m certainly in favor of having people with influence in our society stick up for these rights. However, I don’t want gay people to be used the way those in California were hyped up about Prop 8, only to have the excitement suppressed when the ruling did not hold up.

I can only hope that the leaders and politicians who say they’re for marriage equality and equal rights for all, do the right thing once elected and stick to those beliefs and open statements. 

Comments
  1. Brad Osborne says:

    Great post Natasha. You always make me think. I am sure to some degree all political statements are somewhat rhetorical. And what we are hearing now could certainly be empty promises. But saying they are for LGBT rights is certainly our best chance at gaining support. Whether they follow through is always a gamble at best. It beats the alternative of not being for LGBT rights.

Leave a Reply

