Wonderful Humans

Posted: November 19, 2012 in Wonderful Humans
Tags: , , , ,

This is post #3 in my series of Wonderful Humans. The series is picking up steam as names continue to surface in my mind and flow in from friends and fellow artists and performers. Gandhi is right – we can be the change we want to see in this world. So today’s wonderful human is not a particular person, but the type of person I admire and think of as wonderful. Ha, just when you thought you understood my mind, I change it so stay alert!

I admire and consider the dreamer/dream chaser, a wonderful human. This person has evolved from several aspects – one, from knowing early in life what they wanted, desired or needed to become or create, and they chased that dream until they got the life they desired. The other version of this person, for those of you speaks directly to those who aren’t there yet, self included, who did not chase the dreams from a younger age, but have since realized that what we want is different than what we have/life/experience so we woke up and are chasing the dream now. To the people in either of these categories, I admire you tremendously!

To all of us who trudge on, stifle the urge to scream, and resist the temptation of the ever-almighty back hand slap when life punches you square in the jaw and blackens your eye leaving with you nothing but seething pain and desire to escape, I salute you and want you to know that you can do it. Don’t let everyday obstacles such as a child’s schedule, life and family duties, the ever-demanding 9-5, and who knows what else, get in your way. If you want something badly enough, you’ll find a way to get it.

Oh, and don’t think I’m only preaching or lecturing. I’m writing this to myself as well. Sometimes, I inadvertently side step my dreams and goals of being the full time writer that I know I can be. I give my heart and energy to others and to other people’s dreams and goals. While I enjoy the core aspects of my regular job and life, I realize that to my organization, I’m a replaceable number and sometimes, when I get close to colleagues, I’m reminded that while we can work well together and create amazing products and services, our goals and outlook on life are not the same. Therefore, when I’m working on my novels or editing my new poem after work, while working out, or at midnight, I can’t continue to ignore my needs and join others in their round the clock company dedication. Of course I will give my employer my full attention and skill while at work, but once I exit the building, my personal time has to be my own.

That being said, I want to encourage all of us to follow our dreams, listen to our hearts and don’t let anyone tell you there’s something you shouldn’t do, question, ask or consider. Above all, enjoy life while you have it. Sure, we all have responsibilities. Do what you must or agreed to, but if you can afford it, don’t trade your life and dreams for a paycheck only.

Be the awesome, wonderful, human you are!

Comments
  1. Toni says:

    You, my friend, are wonderful

  2. Brad Osborne says:

    For years, my life supported my work and I still struggle to maintain the opposing structure where my work supports my life. Thanks for the reminder that I am more than what I do for a living. In fact, it is everything I do outside of a paycheck that truly defines me. I really enjoy your latest slant on writing and always appreciate your suport and kindness. Here’s to the chase!

    • Thanks Brad! Always a pleasure to have your feedback and outlook. I’m striving for more positive aspects and I figured blog was a good place to start.
      Ah, yes – the work to live or live to work struggle. Yes, I totally understand; it’s tough to change our structure when it comes to a job that pays us. Often, the paycheck becomes the whip or shackles. Thing is, the whip and shackles could become our wings or muse when we follow our hearts. So here’s to the chase!

Leave a Reply

