The Aces – Chapter 1 Continues…

Posted: February 27, 2013 in The Aces 
Tags: ,

The AcesArthur leaned over to Carey and gave him a thick yellow envelope and said, “These are the pictures; I believe I have all of them.”

Carey put the envelope on the ground. He stepped on it to make sure no one would take it. “Raphael knew about the deal. Was he drunk?”

“Yes. They were tanked, as you young people would say.”

“I am going to burn the pictures. But are you sure these are all of them?”

“As I said, I believe so,” Arthur said.

Carey sat back in his chair. He smoothed out his mustache with his right hand and squeezed his upper lip, one of his habits. He stared into open space. His mind was exhausted. He needed a break.

“If some pictures did surface, I can act upset because she cheated on me.” Carey paused, stared at Arthur, and continued.

“That is a good plan. The media will feel sorry for me and talk bad about Sandra. This will damage her career, since she tried to damage mine. While the media is feeling sorry for me, I can find a back-up girl.”

Arthur sat back in his chair and sipped his glass of water like a proper rich man. “That’s a good plan. Let me make a suggestion about the girl. She should be black.”

“Why?” Carey was puzzled by his suggestion.

“So you can be closer to the black community. Think about the possibilities. Whites, blacks, and Hispanics will see you as an open-minded person,” Arthur said.

“A good plan. I must find a good-looking black girl.  Now we have damage control,” Carey said happily.

The robotic waiter walked up to Carey and brought him his tea. “Is that all, sir?” the waiter asked.

“Yes, thank you,” Carey told the waiter. Carey watched him walk away from his table. He was sad in a way that the waiter didn’t make a fuss over him like everyone else.

Arthur leaned toward Carey.

“Damage control plan is in effect. Are you ready to promote Kite?” Arthur asked.

“Yes, of course. Are people downloading illegal copies of the movie yet?”

“I have to check. But if there’s not a copy out on the Net, do you want me to put the unedited version out there?”

“Yes, you know I fancy this pirate stuff, although my ex-co-star does not like it. When we get over six hundred hits then I can make a public announcement about how bad downloading is to the movie industry. Sound like a good idea?” Carey asked.

Carey’s cell phone rang in his jeans pocket. He unfolded the phone.

“Hello?” Carey said.

“Hello, Carey,” a pleasant voice replied.

Carey looked at Arthur seriously. He was gesturing to Carey, waving both hands in the air. Arthur knew who was on the phone without Carey mentioning the name.

“Don’t talk, Sandra. I hate you. If you bloody ruin this for me, I will take you down,” Carey said.

“What did I do? What happened?” Sandra asked him.

“What did you do? What happened? You know what happened. You got drunk with your boyfriend in New York. Don’t you care about me?” Carey asked.

“I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to get drunk. Raphael and I…” Sandra said thoughtfully.

“You’re sorry? Please. I’m sorry I didn’t bring my violin. Are you going to the Teen Awards with me or him?” Carey asked.

“Well, he wants to come,” Sandra pleaded to Carey.

“I don’t care if he wants to come. Remember our deal.”

Arthur made the same jester again. He didn’t want Carey to make him get noticed while he was on the phone with Sandra. If anyone found out the act between Sandra and Carey, the entertainment news and the papers would have a field day.

“I’m so sorry. I didn’t mean for this to happen, Carey. Please believe me. I told Raphael, yes. Yes, I shall marry him. We were celebrating. I love him,” Sandra said, near tears.

“Love? You love him? How about me? Love is just a word, not a meaning in our business. How am I going to explain this to the media?”

“Tell them the truth,” Sandra said flatly.

“Did you think about me when you told him yes? My mum is going to get you for this,” Carey said accusingly.

“Carey, you don’t want to play this game with me. I told you I’m sorry, but I had to tell you. And besides, your mummy is not going to do anything to me,” Sandra laughed.

Carey’s face began to soften, as he laid his fist on the table. He knew if he pushed her buttons, she would tell his mother the biggest secret he had and it would ruin his life. With the statement Sandra told him, he remembered vividly not to push Sandra’s buttons.

“No, you wouldn’t,” Carey said disbelievingly.

“Yes, I shall. I can play this game too,” Sandra said.

Carey changed from a man to a little boy in a second. “No, please. I’m sorry.”

“You sure you’re not going to ruin my career because if you do…” Sandra hung on the last word.

“I will tell the media you fell in love with Raphael a long time ago. Raphael went away, but when he came back into your life, you needed to be with him. Things between us did not work out and I am happy you are getting married to Raphael. Do we have an agreement?” Carey asked.

“I believe we do,” Sandra said.

Carey knew Arthur was listening to the conversation and he wanted to know if Arthur agreed with the new damage control plan.

“On second thought, let us announce the story after the Teen Awards show. At the awards show, we will act more like friends than lovers. The media will come to their own conclusions. A month after the award show, you can announce your engagement. How does that sound?” Carey asked.

“I’ll go along with it since I’m the one to blame. I shall tell Raphael about the plan. When I tell him that you found out about the club scene, I know he’ll feel sorry about the whole ordeal. He’ll go along with the plan. By the way, how did you find out about Raphael and me?” Sandra asked.

“Arthur found out. He has the pictures.”

“Carey, I’m so sorry. We try to be ghosts because I know you have helped me in my career and our game has helped the both of us, but I love Raphael.”

“Good, now you won’t tell Mum, right?”

“Right,” Sandra said.

“Good. Cheers.”

“So Arthur, you heard the new plan, right?” Carey asked, putting the phone down.

“Yes,” Arthur said.

“I need you to go to my lawyer and write out a contract for Sandra,” Carey continued.

“Why now?”

“I cannot afford her to make my secret known. If she leaks it out, I can lose everything.”

More to come as always! Come back on Monday and let me know what you think so far!

 

About Aliya Leigh:

Aliya LeighSince being the host of her drama gossip news driven popular podcast, she have been keeping her life busy with producing  and directing anime webshows, acting, writing books, designing skateboards and running a social media company while holding down the fort at home with her professional poker playing partner.  Her current show is entitled, “Mercy Me – Deadly Professional”; which is an animated web series about a drug and sex addicted medical doctor who practices euthanasia for a fee.

Leave a Reply

