The Aces – chapter 6 continues…

Posted: May 13, 2013 in The Aces 
Tags: , , , ,

The Aces“It’s Peter.”

Carey sighed with relief because he did not want Philip barging into his trailer. He did not have time to deal with him. He let Peter in. “Lock the door behind you,” Carey said while lying down on his living room floor.

“Your back again?” Peter questioned.

“I thought you were Philip when you knocked. I jumped up from the bed too fast.”

“I’m sorry. I should have told you who I was before I knocked.”

“That’s fine. I just need a few minutes on the floor,” Carey said.

As soon as Peter turned the lock he said, “The girl named Sub-Zero is on her way. She’s willing to drive us to Phoenix. She says that we can stay at her parents’ house overnight. Mike says we’re in good hands. Do you have some of your clothes here?”

“Yes, in the bedroom.”

Peter sat down so they could talk. “Peter, I can’t stop thinking about her. I think she’s acting.”

“What? We thought Philip was acting; look at him. He’s retarded. I heard rumors about her. She loves to irritate people for fun; it’s like her high, her drug. Look at how she treated you and Shawn. I mean, she went below the belt with Shawn; I even felt the pain. Why do you want a woman who will torment you? Are you into that?” Peter asked.

“No. The way she danced though, I could see her true self. Something she does not want the world to see. I can understand how she feels. I think she wants people to think she is rude, but that is not her.”

“Listen, I will help you find Gigi after the trip to Phoenix. Maybe Sub-Zero knows her since Gigi is also a screenwriter. They probably travel in the same circles.”

“I hope so.”

Philip was bored out of his mind. In his trailer, he had a television, stereo, and computer that he didn’t know how to turn on, and several board games. He just didn’t want to be in the trailer. Carey and Peter had their door locked; the crew didn’t want to talk to him; Mike was with his assistant; and Larry was working on the movie script. Philip skipped over to Mike to see if he would play with him. He figured since he invested money in the film, Mike would do anything for him.

“Mike, Mike. How are you? I’m fine. How’s the movie?  Working hard? I bet you’re taking a break,” Philip said in one breath.

Mike was trying to ignore him by writing on his pad, but Philip stood in front of him like a statue. This standoff lasted for one minute before Mike couldn’t take anymore. He felt like sending Philip to his parents, maybe they would be happy to finally have the son they always wanted.

“Hi Philip. Why don’t you sit down and cool yourself off before Sub-Zero gets here.”

“Okay. I will do it for you,” Philip said to Mike and walked over to Carey’s trailer.

“I shouldn’t have taken his money to make the film,” Mike said to Larry and continued to write on his pad.

Carey and Peter walked out of the trailer together and Philip looked at them.

This can’t be right. Peter is trying to have a relationship with him while I should be at his side. He’s cute. What should I do? Philip asked himself.

Philip stared at the ground and then jumped up off the ground and danced a little. He took out his cell phone from his jeans pocket and unfolded it.

“Arthur, hello?”

“Hi, my name is Philip Morey. Are you good with helping actors?”

“Philip Morey, how can I help you?” Arthur asked.

“You know public relations?”

“Yes, for a price,” Arthur said.

“Good. How much?”

“What do you have?”

“I can give you thirty thou,” Philip said.

“Good.”

“I can transfer the money into your account with the ATM.”

“Fine,” Arthur says.

“What’s the scoop on Carey?”

“He loves men,” Arthur blurted.

“I knew he was gay. He’s European. I don’t know why he says he was raised in England. Maybe he’s embarrassed. See, gay is in. I want to be Philip the Great. You can help me,” Philip said.

“Yes,” Arthur agreed.

“Good. I will wire the money to you tonight. We’ll be good friends.”

Philip folded up his phone and smiled. He looked up in the sky and saw the sun smiling at him. He skipped over to Peter and Carey.

“I’m going to be great!” Philip announced, as he did a little dance.

Peter rolled his eyes. “Okay, but bring some clothes. We’re going to stay at Sub-Zero’s parents’ house tonight.”

Philip jumped and clapped his hands. He disappeared inside his trailer. Peter wanted him to disappear forever.

“What is he on?” Peter asked Carey.

Carey shrugged because he could not figure out Philip for the life of him. His acting on set was excellent. How he portrayed a character was amazing. But in real life, Philip was an idiot.

“I wish he gets sick before Sub-Zero gets here,” Carey said.

“I don’t think that’s going to happen,” Peter said.

Philip ran out of his trailer and toward the two men and said, “Where’s the driver? I bet we can walk to Phoenix.”

“No. Phoenix is a hundred miles away from here. If you want to that’s fine with me,” Peter said.

Peter laughed because it reminded him of dealing with Mackay. Mackay would say or do outrageous things to get a rise out of him. Peter didn’t know if Philip was acting as if he was stupid or not, but Philip just reminded him of home and how he missed his family.

“Philip, please sit down. We cannot walk to Phoenix. It takes an hour to drive there, okay?”

“Okay, Mr. Peter,” Philip said with a deep voice.

Philip walked over to his seat, which was far away from the two actors. He sulked in his chair like a child whose parents told him that he couldn’t play outside with his friends.

“He acts worse than my kids,” Peter said.

“Please, don’t insult the kids,” Carey said.

In the distance, they saw a white Ford Explorer park near the set. Mike walked over to the truck and yelled, “She’s here.”

A black girl in hospital scrubs without any shoes on jumped out of the driver’s side of the truck. She ran over to Mike and gave him a big hug. They walk toward the actors with their arms around each other.

“Guys, this is Sub-Zero,” Mike said.

Carey dropped his bag to the ground and looked at Sub-Zero in shock. Peter moved over to Carey and said, “Man, you need to close your mouth.”

Carey nodded and tried his best to bring himself together with his emotions. Philip got up and walked over to Sub-Zero and said, “Okay, driver. You’re late. Now get into the car and drive us to Phoenix.”

“God, please strike me dead. God, please. Have mercy on my soul,” Sub-Zero said.

“Gigi Meekins, you need to respect him,” Mike said.

“But…” Gigi started.

“But nothing. Respect,” Mike said again.

Gigi bowed her head and took a deep breath. She was happy that Carey was there and how he reacted when she appeared. She knew Carey would warm up to her. She couldn’t stop thinking about him, although she was in love with Adam. She had dreams about Carey and how he had the ability to treat her like a princess; something she longed for in her life. She couldn’t help but smile in Carey’s direction; she knew Carey saw it. For the first time in a long time, Gigi was nervous around a man. On a daily basis, she was always around men, including her closest friends, but Carey seemed different. Carey captured her heart. She had heard and read rumors about him, but knew she had a chance to get to know the true Carey.

“Let’s go,” Peter said, as he watched the both of them grinning stupidly at each other.

“I have to take them to Phoenix?” Gigi asked Mike after she got her mind clear of Carey.

“Yes. Dude, take good care of them, as I know you will,” Mike said.

“I have to take the Euro, too?” Gigi asked, as she sulked like a child who didn’t want to do chores.

“Yes, his name is Carey, not Euro.”

“I know. Carey, have you learned a New York accent yet? How did you get to star in this movie? Did you have to use a condom?” Gigi said.

In a split second, Carey’s gooey smile turned into a frown. Peter heard the blow and said to Carey, “Below the belt. You love torture.”

Carey looked at Gigi and wanted to kill her with his bare hands. One second they were staring at each other like two birds and the next second she was insulting him. Mike gave Gigi a look.

“Okay. Let’s go. Philip you sit in the back,” Gigi commanded.

“I should sit in the back. You’re the driver. You have to drive me to Phoenix,” Philip says to Gigi and skipped to the truck. He jumped in and closed the door.

The two actors walked over to her truck, as Gigi hugged Mike goodbye. Everyone was in the truck and Gigi said, “I have to stop at my house. I need to take a shower and get some clothes. Philip, if you make one stupid remark or even say anything, you’ll be walking to Phoenix. Understand?”

“Yes, black mommy,” Philip said. He zipped his mouth with an imaginary key and asked Gigi to roll down the window so he could throw it away.

Carey sat next to Gigi. She moved closer to him and whispered, “How old is he?”

“Twenty-eight.”

“I’m twenty-eight, now I’m scared.”

Gigi drove to her house on River and Oracle. She didn’t have plans to go to Phoenix today, but since they were paying for her gas, it gave her motivation to drive up there. She wanted to stay home, do her homework, finish her book, and go to the movies with Cinda, who was her movie partner and best friend in this boring city. She met Cinda in a pottery class at college; they were partners in class and then became good friends. They spoke together almost every day. Cinda had edited some of her books and stories when her regular editor was backlogged with work.

Gigi picked up her phone and called Cinda. “Hello,” Gigi sang.

“Hi.”

“Are you busy?” Gigi asked.

“Why?”

“I have Carey Roland, Peter Right, and Philip Morey in my car. I’m driving them to Phoenix, you want to join us?”

“I can’t.”

“No, come on,” Gigi urged.

“Are you driving them to your house now?”

“Yes. I’m driving them to my house now. I have to take a shower.”

“Who else did you call?”

“Just you. I have to call Ms. Rachel later. But you’re coming over anyway, right?”

“Of course.”

“Good.”

Gigi folded her phone and put it back in the cup holder.

“You’re going to put us on display?” Carey asked Gigi.

“No. Cinda wants to ask you about Young Boys and she wants Peter’s autograph. She won’t be able to come to Phoenix with us. She has something to do.”

“You trust her?” Carey asked.

“She’s my friend, of course,” Gigi said.

“Is Ms. Rachel the girl you brought to the banquet?” Peter asked.

“Yes, that’s my girl.”

“This is going to be a fun day. She lives here?” Peter asked.

“No. In Chandler near Phoenix.”

Gigi continued to drive to her house with the three actors in her truck. Philip was looking out the window as if he was a child going to Disneyland. Peter and Carey were looking at the sites through the busy country town. Peter saw families walking together and he imagined his own.

Although Peter occasionally liked to get away from the kids and his wife, he still missed his family life in France. His kids were the center of his life and he enjoyed every minute of it. But the problem was with his wife. He loved Paulette, but he wondered if the magic was gone. He sometimes blamed the fact that she didn’t want to leave her family and move to America, but sometimes he blamed himself for being selfish. He left her with the kids for two to three months to perform in an American movie, knowing she was in a rock band and had to go to the recording studio to make music. He blamed himself that he put his career over his wife’s, and she was willing to accept the ordeal. At this point, he realized America was his mistress and felt like he was cheating on his family with her.

Gigi drove through a gate and parked her truck in front of a townhouse. She got out and the actors followed her lead. The townhouses surrounding them were different, and had bold, vibrant colors, which made them stand out from each other. Gigi’s townhouse was painted corn yellow, the townhouse next door was painted grass green, and the townhouse across the street was painted Indian red. Everyone lived in a two-story house, with desert landscape in their front yards and a two-car garage. Gigi walked over to the front door and opened it. The townhouse had a sense of home with tan carpets, a black iron entertainment center that held her PlayStation 2, thirty inch screen television, her mini-sound system, two surround sound speakers, and DVD’s and CD’s. She has a futon and a lazy boy chair in next to the sliding clear window to her patio and the view of the mountain landscape.

Philip said, “You must be poor. You live in a shack.”

Gigi looked at him and wanted to say something to hurt his feelings, but Peter said, “It’s not worth it.”

“Philip, I told you to be quiet. I guess you found your key,” Gigi said.

“Yes, because we’re not in the car.”

“You’re right, anyway,” Gigi said to Philip. “Make yourself at home. The bathroom is in the master bedroom.  There’s food and drinks in the refrigerator. The glasses are over there,” Gigi said, while pointing at a cabinet.  “And there’s a microwave over there. Okay?” Looking at the actors she added, “By the way, if you hear a knock, you can open the door, it’ll be Cinda. I’ll be upstairs.”

“Thanks,” Carey said to Gigi.

Peter went into the kitchen to get something to drink. He looked into the refrigerator and saw cases of Mountain Dew, Gatorade, and lemonade. He took a bottle of Gatorade and closed the door. He walked into the living room to look at her DVD collection and said, “This girl loves movies. Look Carey, she has at lest forty DVDs. I wonder when she gets the time to watch these movies,” Peter said, sitting down on the couch.

Unfortunately, Philip sat next to him and started to talk. Peter ignored his sayings about the afterlife, past lives, and eating meat and just stared through the sliding door to see the mountains in the distance.

Carey went into the master bedroom to use the bathroom. It looked like a desert paradise with sand in the tub.

Carey sat on the toilet seat thinking about Gigi. He knew he liked men, but there was something about this woman that made him want to have a relationship with her. Before leaving the room, he saw a cat out of the corner of his eye. He followed the cat, but the cat dashed under the bed to hide from the stranger. He walked out of the room and closed the door behind him. He walked over to the two men and lay on the floor.

“Carey, why are you lying on the floor?” Philip asked.

“I need back support,” Carey said.

“I can support your back,” Philip said.

Carey looked at him and then at Peter. Peter shrugged because he didn’t want to pursue the conversation.

“I don’t need you to support my back. I am fine,” Carey said.

There was a knock on the door and Philip skipped over to open it. Standing there was a tall white girl with dark straight blonde hair to her shoulders. She was thin and had on a T-shirt and sweat pants.

“Wow, you’re hot. How old are you?” Philip asked the woman.

“I’m thirty years old, so I’m too young for you. You go out with hundred-year-old women. Is it for the senior citizen discount? If so, I feel sorry for you,” the woman said to Philip.

The woman walked in and told Philip to close the door.  He obeyed like a child. She walked into the living room and saw Carey and Peter.

“You must be Cinda,” Carey said to the woman getting up off the floor.

“You’re right. You still have an English accent. How the hell did you get into Young Boys? First, the movie was bad and second did your movie family realize you were British and not American?” Cinda asked.

“I shall not answer anything,” Carey said.

“He’s not British. He comes from Europe,” Philip said to Cinda.

“Idiot, when a person is British they come from the United Kingdom. The United Kingdom is located in Europe.  Now, I need twenty dollars from you,” Cinda said to Philip as she sat on the futon.

“Why?”

“I just gave you a damn geography lesson. You need to pay me.”

“What you said isn’t right. I’m smart. I’m special.  Carey is from Europe.”

“Philip, yes, you’re right. The gossip news is right too,” Cinda said.

“See, I am smart,” Philip said.

“Anyway, Peter, I love your movies. I love how you adapt to an accent, unlike your friend here,” Cinda said.

“Leave him alone,” Peter said angrily.

“You don’t understand. He wasted my time and money.  Yes, there’s nothing to do here but to watch movies, see dumb people walking on the streets, make fun of the American government, and watch the crap on television. But we thought the movie would be entertaining, but it was stupid,” Cinda said.

“You must not bother Carey over these things,” Peter admonished.

“I want to know if he will be in better movies.” Cinda looked at Carey. “Carey you’re a good actor, but please for the sake of God, pick better roles.”

“Right,” Carey said to Cinda.

“Peter, can I have your autograph in my book, please?”

“Yes, but stop talking bad about Carey,” Peter said.

“Will do.”

“Do you want my autograph?” Carey asked.

“You’re not that important, but what the hell. Sign your pretty girly little name in there.”

Peter gave Cinda a hard look. Cinda was an outspoken woman who didn’t give a damn who listened to her. She liked to be heard and asked for praise of who agreed with her. Cinda voiced her opinion and complained about everything under the sun.

“How about me?” Philip asked.

“Do you know how to write your name? Do you know how to spell?” Cinda asked Philip in a baby voice.

“Yes, give me your book,” Philip said like a child.

Cinda took an autograph book out of her purse and gave it to Philip. After signing his name, he gave the book back to Cinda. Looking at Philip’s signature, she tried her best not to laugh, but the signature looked like a three-year-old wrote it. She passed the book to Peter and then to Carey. Carey gave the book to Cinda and sat back down on the futon.

Cinda smiled at the two actors and when she looked at Philip, she gave him a confused look because Philip was playing with her shoelaces. She moved her feet and he stopped. Cinda just shook her head in disappointment at this man. Carey watched as Gigi walked down the stairs and into the living room. Her black hair with brown and golden highlights was curly and cascaded down her back. She had on a black tank top and brown shorts. Carey stared at her legs; they looked powerful but sexy. Carey’s eyes moved up to her chest and he had to put his hands over his eyes to control himself. Cinda looked at the drama and started to laugh. Gigi turned around to Cinda and gave her a big hug.

“So, did you have fun?” Gigi asked Cinda.

“Lots. They listened to my opinions,” Cinda said.

“Yes, we did,” Peter agreed.

“Well, now you know how the other people feel,” Gigi said to the group.

“Okay, let’s go. Cinda, are you sure you don’t want to come with us?” Gigi asked. She didn’t know what Cinda had to do that was more important than hanging out in Phoenix with Rachel, her, and three mega stars. In Gigi’s mind, this should be Cinda’s dream come true. She had always wanted to be popular or to be around the most rich and famous, like Gigi. She figured that the errands Cinda had to do must be important for her to miss out on this opportunity.

“Yes, I’m afraid so. I wish I can, but I can’t. I have a list of things I need to get done,” Cinda explained.

“Okay. I’ll tell Ms. Rachel that you were thinking about her.”

“No, tell that crazy girl she needs to get her act together,” Cinda said.

“You know I know, but she doesn’t. We can only hope for the best,” Gigi said.

“Keep these men in line when you go up there.”

Cinda got up from the chair and hugged Gigi again then left. Gigi unfolded her phone and speed dialed Rachel’s phone number. She knew that she was home resting from the club scene last night.

“Girl, what’s up?” Gigi asked.

“What’s going on?”

“I’m bringing the guys,” Gigi said.

“What guys?”

“Philip, Carey, and Peter.”

“No. The actors?”

“Yes.”

“Where are they now?”

“At my house,” Gigi said.

“Okay. We have to take them to Club D.”

“Party, party. Where do you want to meet me at?”

“I’ll meet you at your house, and then we have to see my boyfriend, my everything,” Gigi said.

“What about Adam?”

“Forget about him, I’ll call him tomorrow. Okay. I’m leaving the house now. Give me thirty-five to forty-five minutes.”

“You’re crazy. You’re going to get them sick.”

“I know. Bye.”

Gigi folded up her phone and put it in her bag.

“Who was that?” Carey asked.

“Ms. Rachel,” Gigi said.

“Why did you tell her thirty-five to forty-five minutes? It takes an hour or so to get to the Phoenix area,” Peter said.

“Well, you have never driven with me. So let’s go.”

“Philip honey, we’re leaving now,” Gigi said to the child looking at the mountains in the distance. Philip got up from the floor like an obedient child. The other two actors walked out the door and Philip followed them. Gigi swung her laundry bag over her shoulder and walked outside. She put all her stuff in the truck and sat in the driver’s seat.

“Now, you guys are going to pay for my gas and give me a tip, right?” Gigi asked.

“Yes,” they said in agreement.

“Now Carey, since you’re up front, your job is to watch for cops ahead of me. Peter, look around for cops around me and Philip, go to sleep.”

“What?” Carey asked.

“Just do it,” Gigi commanded.

Carey and Peter looked at each other because they didn’t know what was in store for them.

Gigi got on the I-10 going toward Phoenix and she sped and weaved in and out of traffic. When the traffic was light she stepped on the pedal going just under 100 miles per hour. The phone rang and she picked it up. Carey and Peter looked at her in amazement and fear.

“What, girl?” Gigi asked.

“Where are you?”

“Casa Grande. Give me twenty minutes,” Gigi said.

“Okay.”

“Peace.” Gigi folded the phone and put it in the cup holder. “We’re going to have a lot fun tonight,” Gigi said.

“If we get there in one piece,” Peter said.

End of Chapter 6. More to come on Wednesday!

About Aliya Leigh

Aliya LeighSince being the host of her drama gossip news driven popular podcast, she have been keeping her life busy with producing and directing anime webshows, acting, writing books, designing skateboards and running a social media company while holding down the fort at home with her professional poker playing partner. Her current show is entitled, “Mercy Me –Deadly Professional”; which is an animated web series about a drug and sex addicted medical doctor who practices euthanasia for a fee.

Leave a Reply

