Pimp, Whore, and Art

Posted: May 19, 2013 in Rocks in my path
Tags: , , , , , , ,

As an artist with a full time job that I enjoy and dare say I am good at, it’s hard for me to accept less than (insert whatever the ‘it’ or ‘needed’ item here) from anyone who wants to put my art into a box, or label it, or steal ownership of it in some form. Over the years, I’ve had the opportunity to consider working with, and being included in artistic ventures that would make some artists jump for joy. But in my case, it made me hesitant. I wish I could fully explain why it didn’t and I’m sure if I tried really hard, I could. Let’s just chalk it up to not needing to earn a living with my art because I have a job that allows me to live comfortably for the most part, and to  not wanting to be associated with, indebted to, or owned by, certain things, people and situations. 

So why share this? Why share now? Especially if I’m saying I’m okay with being me?  Because I think I’ve finally found a couple of good music matches to go with my pieces, because I may be growing up a little, (not a lot because well that is soooo boring and overrated) and because I have less of a burning desire to say, ‘f*ck off’ to people who want to take advantage, or who present one face and then when I take the bait, show the other less beautiful side. 

Granted, my reluctance and desire to keep my dignity had not yielded rewards in terms of heaps o’money and fame but I feel satisfied knowing that my truth, and my dignity is intact. I also feel that by taking the road less traveled at times, the path will eventually pay off. If it doesn’t, it never hurts to have hope, right?  Plus, I’d prefer to die with hope instead of regret.  Obviously I’d prefer not to die at all, but that’s another post for another day…

Have you ever had this kind of heartfelt talk with yourself?  Have you come to realize that while someone may have good intentions, or while someone may love and appreciate you, they can’t, or maybe aren’t the most viable options through which a successful merger or collaboration will be built?  Or that some just don’t know what the hell they’re doing or just want to use you to fulfill their own dreams? 

Look, I know that by having a full time job, I’m helping an organization reach a goal and in some cases, being used by managers, directors, CEOs, etc accomplish THEIR goals and dreams. But since they pay me well to help them, I figure it’s okay. Plus, this “Give and Take” situation subsidizes my art.  So if someone wants to pay me well for art, “shouldn’t it be the same?” you may ask. I don’t think so. I think hierarchy, censorship, etc is okay in certain workplaces but have no place in art. Therefore, an artist should be reasonably free to create as desired and not have to worry about whether he/she will succeed, sell, etc.

I’d like to think that I’m not alone. I’d also like to think that one day, I won’t be judged by competitions and sales dollars, but by my contributions to society based on my job skills but mostly by my art. A girl can dream, can’t she? 

Comments
  1. Raymond Wingo, Jr. says:

    I frikkin ADORE you, my friend. You always say exactly what you’re thinking. Indeed. Art should be an homage to the experience and love of the expression. The $ can at times inadvertently cause dichotomies in the process. And collaborative and supportive outlets need to be built stronger while knowing that every window doesn’t let in the most gentle or intoxicating of breezes. But as we “grow, little by little” 🙂 we learn how we can better cooperate with, appreciate, and develop in and out of each other, our art, and all those other things that the little things might’ve before made seem inanimate. I love these expressions of Freedom. And the gift of freedom cannot be boxed by a price tag.

    • A big THANK YOU, Raymond! You get me and that, as a friend and artist, means the world to me. I love your statement, “The gift of freedom cannot be boxed by a price tag.” Can’t wait to hear more on your musical & poetic genius!!

Leave a Reply

