Opinions are like assholes

Posted: January 17, 2014 in Rocks in my path
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Pretty harsh title, I know. But it’s deserving. I recently had a discussion with a colleague who made an infuriating statement to me but because it was at work, I had to let it go. I was able to respond, rather mildly compared to how I was really feeling, but it was all I could do at work. I’ll setup the story/premise and you can decide if I’m being too harsh.

Background: Conversation is about the doctor at a fertility clinic who used his semen to impregnate women. The fathers then found out that they’re not the biological father, mothers are devastated and well, the kids are unfortunately caught up in this mess.

Me: Wow, that’s crazy and sad!

Asshole: If people would just have kids the old fashioned way kids are supposed to be had, this wouldn’t happen.

Me: (immediately pissed off) That comment ignores some real issues like those who are physically unable to have children – some of the people who want children and would be great parents but can’t, for whatever reason, have them your so-called old fashioned way.

Asshole: Well, then they don’t need children. Maybe this fertility approach causes other issues like crazy sicknesses, maybe even those gender issues and people who think they’re gay and…

Me: (interrupting before I throw a chair) What?!?! That’s insane to say or imply!! (trying to stifle anger)

Assh0le: Well, in the Bible…

Me: (interrupting again) Gotta go. It’s time for my meeting.

This, along with those who still buy in to shit like reality tv craziness mirroring real life,  or those who claim that having children in a way that is different than when a man and a woman conceive a baby is the possible cause of that baby having gender issues or being gay, etc. make me sad and very angry at the lack of empathy, and pure ignorance. Some days I want to fight ignorance more, or do more than a well-placed glare, but sometimes it’s not the right place or time and it leaves me seething and well, writing.

How do we make the world a better place when I have to keep my opinions in check due to place and time appropriateness? Well, I guess like my title implies, my opinion ain’t that different from another person’s opinion and we all have them, right?

Comments
  1. copd says:

    Hello there! This article couldn’t be written any better! Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He always kept preaching about this. I’ll forward this article to him. Pretty sure he’s going to have a great read. Thank you for sharing!

  2. Mara says:

    When people express opinions like this about reproductive issues, whether fertility, birth control or abortions, I have to wonder – How do they feel about cancer treatments? Or, knee replacements? It’s not logical to condemn modern medical solutions to fertility and reproduction as “playing god,” while supporting modern medicine that cures illnesses to extend life, mobility, etc.

    • Exactly, Mara! How can you be open and accepting to one scientific idea and not others that help so many people as you pointed out. What makes it worse for me is when someone hides behind a lame ass excuse such as, “How it’s intended” or “supposed to be”, or that it will “cause gender issues”, etc. I think this is a case of “If it benefits me, it’s okay”.

  3. MymB612 says:

    UUUUGH these people just press my buttons. I just don’t get how their minds work. How is the process of conception related in any way to the sexual orientation of the kid? It’s like saying monkeys write musicals because oranges jump like tortilla tornadoes. And then when you lose your temper at all the ignorance they tell you you have anger management issues. There’s just no reasoning with these people. My consolation? A mix of Karma and natural selection.

Leave a Reply

