Writing Wednesday: Shitty First Drafts

Posted: January 22, 2015 in Rocks in my path, Writing Wednesday
Tags: , , , , , ,

“The first draft of everything is shit.” -Ernest Hemingway

Hemingway

I like this quote. A lot. Probably too much.

I try to remember it when writing. Would I have said it the same way? Probably. Especially since I feel that way about most of my first drafts. Many of them require extensive revisions, updates, re-reads, fine tuning and some are even thrown out – granted, accidentally sometimes, because I have a bad habit of writing on anything I can find when I have an idea – post it note, envelope that bills and other mail come in (why else do they mail those things,  anyway?), napkins, etc.

Granted, I share idea and a some poetry drafts with someone who loves me in spite of my crazy moods and thoughts, because in poetry, some of my first drafts flow and exude emotion. With everything else? I refuse to share a first draft. Why? Ego protection. And because the draft is shit.

Below is a link to an interesting list from the Thought Catalog which contains “21 Harsh But Eye-Opening Writing Tips from Great Authors” written by Cody Delistraty. Be sure to check out the advice in #21. It’s super helpful! 🙂

 21 Harsh But Eye-Opening Writing Tips…

What are some of your tips or helpful articles of advice?

Leave a Reply

