Race

Posted: February 19, 2015 in Pushing my buttons!, Writing Wednesday
Tags: , ,

I identify as no particular race in my mind but have been asked and identified as many different races by many people over many years. Why? I was raised in a culture, in a family, on an island, where race or ethnic background does not matter. We identified as equal habitants of that country although I know race issues existed between a few folks. But really, we, meaning the people I know, thought of ourselves as an equal creed. Why do people ask? Maybe to find a connection, to be nosy or to just ask.

What does this have to do with now? Well, it’s black history month and while I identify with relatives and ancestry from a certain continent, I don’t appear to be of that group. Keep in mind I said “appear”. Yet, I’m not white. But I’m not really anything…

Hoestly, I don’t fit neatly into the American census bureau boxes. Until recently. I discovered by American standards and the good ole government’s criteria, I fit into three groups, none of which I can truly claim without feeling somewhat false, fake or like a liar. Does it matter? I don’t think so. But everyone who pegs me as something or the other seems to think so…

Race. It matters. Until it doesn’t. Even then, it seems to matter to others.

Comments
  1. Like any other species, the human race comes in different colors like a rainbow; The sooner people understand this, the better.

Leave a Reply

