Tell It Tuesday! Acceptance

Posted: March 25, 2015 in Tell it Tuesday
Tags: , ,

If you don’t like minorities (people who claim an ancestry or background other than white) and/or if you dislike or are scared by queer people (anyone who identifies as other than straight), please let me know. Be proud of your beliefs! I won’t judge you. I prefer honesty over lies and passive aggressive actions and messages. I believe we all have a right to our thoughts and opinions.

Why does it matter and why am I writing this? Because recently on social media I noticed that some will pretend they are okay with queerness, with #BlackLivesMatter and against policy brutality against minorities, black men in particular, while publicly posting and tweeting opinions of hate and fear towards queer people, or sharing thoughts of confuddlement about systemic injustice and race. Yes I am assuming these people’s behavior towards friends who are queer or minorities is false because you can’t be okay with one small part and not the whole. Some may say I’m asking too much but just go with me for a minute.

While you retweet or share a post indicating you accept someone for being queer or claim to be a friend, then tweet or post that queer people shouldn’t be allowed equal rights, that’s not acceptance. Acceptance comes when it’s in the form of the whole, not only for one aspect or one person. When you say that police brutality is rampant because of how black people act towards authority, or because of black men killing black men, then you do not understand root cause analysis and systemic injustice.

If you’re reading this and still not sure what I’m talking about, look up the terms. While you’re at it, pick up a book on fallacies. You’re welcome! Not sure you want to thank me? Well, even if you still disagree with me, at least you’ll become a better conversationalist, and maybe, just maybe, a little more enlightened about our society.

Comments
  1. charlypriest says:

    I hate some white people, I hate some black people, I hate some gay people….then I also like some white people and like some black people and like some gay people(my uncle was gay). So, I hate and like individuals, not putting them in a group but judging them as individuals.

Leave a Reply

